Grant, Toppin Win AP’s Top Awards

Cover photo of Anthony Grant (left) and Obi Toppin (center) from Griffin Quinn.

Michael Crouchley
Sports Editor

Dayton men’s basketball has capped off a historic season with two individual honors. Head coach Anthony Grant and redshirt sophomore forward Obi Toppin have been named AP Coach of the Year and Player of the Year respectively.

Both Grant and Toppin are the firsts in program history to receive the honors.

The college basketball season ended before the NCAA Tournament due to the coronavirus pandemic, but the Flyers finished No. 3 in the AP Top 25 Poll.

See also- UD Student Athletes React to Spring Sports Cancellations

Grant is in his third year as Dayton’s head coach and the team has improved in all three seasons. The Flyers finished the year 29-2.

Toppin is also Dayton’s first ever consensus All-American. After averaging 20 points and 7.5 rebounds-per-game, Toppin is projected to be one of the top picks in the 2020 NBA Draft. 

Toppin announced on Instagram Monday that he would announce whether he would declare for the draft “soon.”

Toppin and Grant are also finalists for Naismith Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards. The Naismith Awards will be announced on April 3.

For more sports news like Flyer News on Facebook and follow us on Twitter (@FlyerNews & @FlyerNewsSports) and Instagram (@flyernews) 

Flyer News: Univ. of Dayton's Student Newspaper